top of page
Search
Writer's pictureFAME

Self-Tanners You Need This Summer!

Updated: Jul 20, 2020

Alena Chuprinsky


If you are anything like me, you HATE being pale. I love that natural tan look that glistens my skin in the summer. I finally decided I had enough of being pale and invested in my own self-tanner on a budget!



 

Quick Tips: 

  1. Shave before applying self tanner 

  2. Exfoliate your skin and moisturize at least 30 mins before application

  3. Apply with a glove -- if you do not have a glove wash your hands immediately after 

  4. Be cautious applying around your face -- especially above your lip area, nose and chin

  5. Whatever the recommended time length is, double that for best results

  6. After rinsing the self tanner, use lotion daily to hydrate your skin and avoid dry patches

 

B.Tan


I'm going to be honest, I learned about this self tanner on my favorite app, Tik-Tok... but I’m so glad I did! For the longest time I wanted to try self-tanner but always found them to be so expensive. When I scrolled across this one I just had to try it! I purchased this self tanner at Walmart but you can also find it at Target for only $10! It’s trendy name, “Tanned AF” was sure to attract young tiniboppers, they can barely keep it on the shelves. I also purchased the glove which was $5, the glove is a great way to ensure that your hands don't turn orange and makes the job a lot easier so 10/10 would recommend buying them together. The bottle recommends 1 hour regularly and 4 hours if you want to be super dark but honestly I sleep in it for 9+ hours for the best results. DON'T WORRY it does not get on your sheets! It usually lasts me around 5 days until it starts getting patchy. I love this self-tanner and love the price even more!


BEFORE and AFTER


 



 


Norvell


Before I started using my own self-tanner my roommate turned me onto Norvell self-tanning mousse. It is literally spray tan in a bottle and I don't mean that figuratively. You can get it online, Amazon has it for around $30 so it is on the more expensive side but you never have to worry about not getting good results. The nice thing about this one is she puts it on at night and goes to class before washing it off and you cant even tell she has it on still. It doesn't give her that dirty look that some self tanners do. This self tanner also does not come off patchy at all, it just fades very naturally and then youre ready to reapply the next time! The only downfall is it only lasts about 2 days max but the application process is so easy and it goes on so well it makes up for it and doesn't make self tanning feel like a long drawn out process.





 


Tanologist Express Tan Water


If you are a little hesitant on the whole self-tanning process I DEFINITELY recommend self-tanning water. The application process is literally so easy. It gives you the best glow and takes less than 5 mins to spray on and it doesn't leave you feeling sticky. Since it is a spray it doesn't get clumpy, once I spray I take my mitt to rub it all in to make sure it's all applied evenly. This specific brand smells so good too so it leaves me smelling good and feeling light and airy. I honestly would recommend this over self-tanning lotion just because you get the same results-if not better, it doesn't come off patchy at all and all you do is spray and rub! 



 


Honorable Mentions





56 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page