top of page
Search
Writer's pictureFAME

Five Sense De-Stress

By: Skylar Fox


We’ve all had to completely relearn what our body needs when it’s faced with stress - this past year, we’ve been through more than we could’ve ever imagined. Self care might sound gimmicky at this point, but it’s waaaay more important than ever. I’m no stranger to anxiety, and in March when it felt like an apocalypse, I’m not ashamed at all to say my therapist was one of the main reasons I could deal. She taught me that one of the quickest ways to alter your mood is to interact with your five senses, and I’ve been using it to ground myself ever since.


Here’s some ways you can utilize that technique to remain chill in these insane times:


My favorite method is to interact with my sense of smell - I keep incense by my desk that I burn throughout online classes. Incense is one of the fastest and cheapest ways to change the mood of your space. Not only is a pack of incense less than a few dollars, it floods your room with a calming scent, and the visual smoke is super relaxing. Some of my favorite scents to burn are lavender and cinnamon.


Visually, it’s important to keep the space you’re spending most of your day in your literal sanctuary. Having some life around is important, and plants are easy on the eyes. If you’re like me in an apartment, sometimes we can’t have pets around, or maybe there’s less people to talk to than at your family’s house. Plants are an easy way to bring some vibrancy to your space, and allows you to care for something other than yourself.


Another sense we all love to indulge in, especially over quarantine - taste! While we all need those nights of ordering our favorite meal to our door when we’re feeling overwhelmed or blue, cooking is a great reliever of stress. Picking a recipe and trying something completely different not only can take time out of your day away from screens, but can give some energy to your perhaps dull day. If you’re stuck at home all week doing work, picking a food challenge with your roommates can help offer some variety.


The last two senses, touch and sound, I find are best soothed outside. No one said taking time in nature has to be going on a run - just think of all the unexplored places in the city/town of wherever you’re quarantining that you’ve always thought about checking out. And you don’t always need a friend for exploring. Going around a trail with your playlist, your journal, and some snacks (as long as you’re hella safe and aware) can be just the grounding you need. Some of my favorite local spots for doing so is hiking through the Wissahickon trail and down the Manayunk canal up to the Schuylkill.


Above all, you have to remind yourself that this isn’t a normal period of time to be a college student, which is already a feat in itself, and you can’t be hard on yourself. While we have to get comfortable being alone, you can’t forget you’re not in this alone. Make sure you’re keeping in touch with the people you can’t see right now, because they need it just as much as you do!



31 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page