top of page
Search
Writer's pictureFAME

Casually Styling a Blazer

Bri Moyer




Wearing a blazer has always intimidated me. I purchased my first blazer the summer before my junior year of college, and quite frankly I did not want to buy it. It was a sign that I was growing up and about to transition into the real world. Thinking about leaving college for the real world makes me feel old!! The feeling of growing up can be great, but it is also terrifying! I needed to do something to change this feeling because I did not feel confident when wearing a blazer. I needed to feel confident when interviewing for internships and jobs. Luckily, I have been able to do some things to become more comfortable when wearing a blazer, and I am here to tell you how I did that!

I figured the best way to make myself comfortable and confident in a blazer was to add my personal style to it. With that being said, here are two casual ways to wear a blazer!!


L O O K O N E

For this look I wanted to add a pop of color, so I picked my favorite color which is yellow. Yellow has always made me not only feel happy but also feel confident. I love the delicate floral pattern on the tank, and how subtle the added green and white details are. I think the simple floral pattern matches great with the geometric pattern on the blazer. Mixing patterns is something that I have grown to love over the past year. This is a great example. I decided to keep this look casual by wearing a pair of light-wash denim jeans and sandals. This look could easily be made interview ready by substituting the jeans with a pair of black trousers!


L O O K T W O

Bands tees are one of the most versatile pieces in a wardrobe, and I love the idea of wearing them with blazer. It mixes something formal with something trendy, making for a bold statement. I again wore this look with the same light-wash jeans, but switched my sandals out for a simple pair of white sneakers. I also decided to crop the band tee and show a bit of skin. This part of the looks is optional, but I tend to wear cropped items on a regular basis! I am obsessed with this look. I am even counting down the days until it is cool enough to wear is around campus (of course with a cute facemask).


S O M E T I P S A N D T R I C K S

I tend to buy blazers that make a statement on their own. For example, I do not own a black blazer and the only solid color one I own is light pink. This makes me more excited to wear them because I think of them as fashion pieces, not as basics. I also do this because I have a wide variety of black pants, shoes, and tops to match them with. One of the best ways to wear a blazer is to wear all black underneath it!!


I have found the best luck buying blazers from Target, H&M, Kohl's and JCPenney's! (the white one is from JCPenney's for about $20 on sale). Kohl's and Penney's are both great options when shopping on a budget. Both stores tend to have great deals, and make sure to ask your mom or dad for their coupons!!




34 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page