top of page
Search
Writer's pictureFAME

A Hot Take On Architecture, As an FMM Student

By Christine Yohe


Fashion is one of the biggest parts of my life, truly. All-day, all-night, I’m sure fashion is in my dreams as well. A few months ago, I had a strong turnaround in my major. I would open my closet and just see clothing, no value, no connection. I second guessed my career path, if I wanted to pursue fashion or what I even wanted to do with fashion. But I had a silly little epiphany during this time: Fashion is way more than just the clothes I put on and accessories I buy. Fashion can be dipped into so many other things surrounding this world.

I look at fashion designers, for example Pierre Cardin took inspiration for his famous bubble dresses from avant-garde and space age building designs. I discovered that designers and architects go hand in hand, Raf Simons used Antti Lovag’s quirky bubble house with a thousand windows in his 2016 Dior resort collection, showcased in Palais Bulles.

Givenchy Fall/Winter 2008 x Peterborough Cathedral


Now, in no way am I a fashion designer or famous architect, but I’ve learned how to mix my love for fashion and buildings together. I consider all the physical attributes that pull a house together, like the shape of the windows, the colors of the shutters, and the brick or stone surrounding. I love the walkways leading up to homes, especially smooth curvy stone

with plants along each side. I love driving by houses at night and seeing the big lit up windows with large chandeliers. Connecting colors, shapes and dimensions on housing is a lot like styling an outfit, believe it or not. You can also find many different buildings to use as background for photoshoots and even daily little “OOTDs”.

Pierre Cardin 1969


I pull inspiration from color palettes of building and put them into outfits, I find new color combinations I’ve never even thought about, then somehow pull it into my wardrobe. For example, on my walk to the train station yesterday, a dark blue house with an electric yellow door caught me out of the corner of my eye. Now, I can’t stop wearing dark blues with bright colors. This house somehow sparked such an interest in me, every time I go by it now I stop and look at it for a second (I really hope the people that live there don’t see that happening!).

There are so many ways to connect fashion into architecture, and I’m still finding more ways. What I really love about fashion and architecture is the emotions each possesses. I’m so intrigued by the emotions inside the homes, the people making memories. I think that’s really where my love for both fashion and architecture connect, the emotions that are held through designs of both buildings and clothing.


Raf Simons x Antti Lovag 2016 Dior Resort Collection



24 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page