top of page
Search
Writer's pictureFAME

5 Ways to Help You Stick to Your Fitness Goals

Julia Eberenz


Hey guys; I am going to share with you today ways that I have personally found it effective to stick to my fitness goals. First, I thought I would tell you a little bit about myself and my experience with fitness because everyone is so different. I had always been a busy active child. I always wanted my days to be full from the time I woke up to the time my head hit the pillow. That meant a lot of extracurriculars. You name it, I probably tried it. We are talking gymnastics, softball, dance, basketball, and yes, even baton twirling, just to name a few. Over time, I narrowed down my activities considerably, and I currently adore dance, barre, and spin classes. It was a long journey to pick something I truly enjoyed that made me feel good inside and out. That leads me to my first point. If you are going to integrate exercise into your lifestyle, you have to love it. Trust me, I know it is easier said than done, but it is possible. I was very over hearing that phrase “Oh, you just have to find a workout you love!”, which was right around the beginning of college. Exercise had become less of a social fun extracurricular like it was in grade school and felt more like a task to check off my to-do list. I felt responsible for keeping up with my fitness, but I was not focusing on what I enjoyed. I mean, I was on the right track exploring my options, but the enjoyment was not always there. What really changed the game for me -- and something I hope everyone will find -- is not only finding an activity you love that keeps you active, but also someone who keeps you accountable in the most positive of ways. I was fortunate enough to find a spin and barre instructor who reframed what my fitness goals looked like in the best ways. I was no longer interested in fitness because of my appearance and unrealistic expectations I had placed on myself. I was instead interested in paving the way to allow my body to age gracefully, using exercise as a resource to blow off steam on a bad day, and using exercise as a supplement for a caffeinated energy boost. All of that aside, inspiration does not have to be from an instructor. It could be a friend, a family member, a co-worker; whomever has your best interest at heart and wants to participate. This leads me to my next point. If you are not setting a sustainable fitness goal for yourself, you will not be happy with your results. You could reach that dream weight, but life is not a linear climb. Life happens, and many life experiences will alter your fitness journey that are out of your control. This is something I am still trying to learn, but I am better at coming to terms with as the perfectionist I am. What is in your control is what goals you set for yourself that bring you back to exercise.

The mental care needed in sustaining a healthy active lifestyle is just as important as the physical side. You do not have to necessarily be facing a diagnosed mental health condition to be struggling with your fitness goals, but for me personally as someone diagnosed with general anxiety disorder, it was a big obstacle. I did not realize it until I actually sought out help to work on regulating the anxiety. When I was in a better place mentally, my motivation increased, and I was not afraid to push myself. I was getting the most out of my workouts. I had always been afraid of pushing myself too hard. I do not know if anyone relates to this, but my point is, however large or small the impact of your mentality on your lifestyle, take the time to recognize that. A healthy lifestyle is rooted in the connection of mind and body.

A final note I have for your fitness journey is placing emphasis on your diet just as much as exercise! I am sure that is pretty commonly heard, but the key is finding things that taste good to you and keep your energy high. I HIGHLY recommend Pinterest for inspiration. I found some alternatives to the processed foods I was placing in my diet that tasted good and left me feeling energized instead of bloated and sleepy. But, it is still important to remember that treating yourself is OKAY. Fitness -- and life itself honestly -- is all about ~balance~. If you take anything from this article, please just remember that your fitness journey is meant to be enjoyed. That mindset will help you find what works for you; I hope!

Again, these are just some things that worked for me in my personal fitness journey. I think this advice I heard once applies here as well: take what resonates, and leave the rest.




15 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page